股票

加拿大国家银行指出,区块链技术可以极大地改变金融服务的未来。与经典的发行证券方法相比,区块链允许对任何类型的资产进行通证化,并使交易即时、安全和透明。美国商品期货交易委员会主席Christopher Giancarlo确认,如果区块链技术在2008年可用,它们可能可以防止引发2008-2009年金融危机。分布式账本技术(DLT)在股票领域有广泛的应用。例如:

1.降低操纵风险并自动分配股息。将所有权信息存储在分布式分类帐中可以最大程度地减少证券操纵的风险,通过智能合约可以自动分配股息。换句话说,区块链技术的应用可以改变市场中的游戏规则。

2.资产的通证化和中介数量最少。由于区块链旨在消除中介机构,因此通证化的资产可能会把托管银行挤出市场。毕竟,资产是直接通过区块链转移的,无需将其存储在第三方中。因此,在传统的证券交易所中,股票转让代理商扮演着核心角色,他们是交易中的第三方中介。仅在美国和加拿大,就有350多家股票转让代理商,他们代表15,000多家发行人,记录着超过1亿股东。当前,一种证券可以存储在五或六个信任级别(交易经纪人,卖方的银行,本地信托管理人,全球信托管理人,中央存管处)。仅存管信托与结算公司(DTCC)每年就创造超过10亿美元的收入,服务于1.6千万亿次交易。

3.逐渐减少了交易时间。通常,要确认和结算每笔交易,需要完成一系列确认和检查。这就是当前T + 3市场(在某些情况下为T + 2)结算时间的原因,投资者需等待资金到账。区块链技术将此时间几乎减少为零。弥合“暂时性缺口”可以为银行节省数十亿美元,从而减少资本支出。还有一个地方可以从传统IPO中获取STO并利用区块链的所有优势。例如,新加坡交易所已经建立了自己的STO市场。

4.降低交易成本,提高投资者之间的互动效率。金融市场机构的客户将具有在股票上实施区块链技术的众多优势,包括更低的交易成本和证券服务成本。大小投资者将能够更有效地相互交流,交易将变得更快、更可靠和更安全。这将使更多人能够进入证券市场。

摩根大通和加拿大国家银行已经使用区块链发行了1.5亿美元的债务票据。高盛(Goldman Sachs)、辉瑞(Pfizer)、莱格梅森(Legg Mason)和西部资产(Western Asset)等行业巨头也参与了进来。据《福布斯》杂志报道,区块链技术的大规模采用将在4到7年的时间内发生。

优势一览

  • 使用证券型通证进行交易
  • 交易时间最短
  • STO/通证化IPO
  • 更大的流动性
  • 股息分配
Want to learn more? Get in touch

Equity Shares

The National Bank of Canada noted that the  technology of blockchain could dramatically change the future of financial services. Compared to the classical method of issuing securities, the blockchain allows to tokenize any type of equities and makes transactions instant, safe and transparent. Christopher Giancarlo, Chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission of the USA, affirmed that if blockchain technologies were available in 2008, they could have  prevented triggers of the financial crisis of 2008-2009. There is a wide range of applications for Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT) in the equities sector. For example,

  1. Reducing risks of manipulation and automatically paying dividends. Storing ownership information in a distributed ledger minimizes the risk of securities manipulation, and via smart-contracts, dividends can be paid automatically. In other words, the application of blockchain technology can transform rules of the game in the market.
  2. Tokenization of assets and minimizing quantity of mediators. Since the blockchain is designed to remove intermediaries, tokenized assets can crowd out custodian banks. After all, assets are transferred directly through the blockchain and there is no need to store them with third parties. So, at traditional stock exchanges, the central role is played by Stock Transfer Agents, which are a third-party intermediary in the transaction. In the United States and Canada alone, there are more than 350 stock transfer agents who on behalf of more than 15,000 issuers, keep records of more than 100 million shareholders. Currently, one security can be stored at five or six levels of trust (exchange brokers, banks from the seller, local trust managers, global trust managers, the central depository). Only the Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (DTCC) alone generates more than US$ 1,000,000,000 in revenue annually, serving 1.6 quadrillion transactions. 
  3. Gradually diminished time of transaction. Typically, to confirm and settle each transaction, you need to complete a series of confirmations and checks. This is the reason for the current T + 3 market, in some cases, T + 2, settlement time, which makes investors wait for funds to arrive. Blockchain technology reduces this time almost to zero. Closing the “temporary gap” could save banks billions of dollars as a result of reduced capital spending. There is also a place to make STO from classical IPO and use all the benefits of blockchain. For instance, the Singapore Exchange has already established its own STO market.
  4. Lower transaction costs and more efficient interaction between investors. Clients of financial market institutions will have a number of advantages of implementing blockchain technology at equities, including lower transaction costs and the cost of servicing securities. Small and large investors will be able to interact with each other  more effectively, transactions will become faster, more reliable and safer. This will allow the broad masses to gain access to the securities markets.

JPMorgan and the National Bank of Canada have already used blockchain to issue debt papers for US$ 150,000,000. Such giants of the industry as Goldman Sachs, Pfizer, Legg Mason and Western Asset have taken part too. According to Forbes journal, the mass introduction of blockchain technology will occur in an interval of 4-7 years.

The Benefits at a Glance

  • Trades with security tokens
  • Minimized time of transaction
  • Security Token Offering (STO)/Tokenized IPO
  • Greater liquidity
  • Dividend distribution
  • Reducing of transaction costs 
Want to learn more? Get in touch